Georgetown, TEXAS Assault and Battery Defense Attorney
Assault and battery are serious offenses that can be charged separately or together. If you are accused of both assault and battery, you may find that you will be facing lengthy jail time, hefty fines, and probation. You may also be served with a restraining order that can negatively affect everything from your daily commute to the visitation of your children.
If you have been accused of either of these crimes, then you need to work with an experienced assault and battery defense attorney. There are two types of crime that a person can be charged with: misdemeanor assault and aggravated assault.
Texas Simple Assault Laws and Penalties
Simple assault that caused minor injuries
• Class A Misdemeanor – Up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4000 fine
Simple assault that involved threatening or touching
• Class C Misdemeanor – up to a $500 fine
Simple assault can become 3rd-Degree Felony
• carries up to $10,000 fine and ten years in prison
• **if the crime was committed by a public servant, government official, emergency services worker, security guard, family member or domestic relationship in which you have had previous domestic violence.
Texas Aggravated Assault Laws and Penalties
Aggravated assault 2nd Degree Felony
• 2 to 20 years in prison – up to $10,000 fine
Aggravated Assault 1st Degree Felony
• 5 years to life in jail
• ** assault was committed by public servant, government official, emergency services worker, security guard, family member or domestic relationship in which you have had previous domestic violence, witness or informant
Because the majority of assault crimes are classified as felony offenses, the penalties for a conviction include no less than one year in state prison, probation, large fines, community service, mandatory counseling, restitution to the victim, and more.
Contact me today (512) 598-5012 to schedule a free case evaluation.